noob dun good?
So I'm new to AC and rusty as hell on level design, nothing since Build (I got some chewing gum and quit kicking ass). I've made a level that probably contains every dumb mistake out there but was popular with the people I tested it on (and I didn't even know or pay them).

The main problem with it at the moment is stuttering. It's a nautical map with two small ships as bases. I found that I couldn't designate dry areas below the waterline so I had to push the water level unrealistically far down the sides of the ships leaving the sea bed much further down than I'd planned with only just enough water to cover your head. This ate so much space that I had to bring the ceiling down to compensate. I'm working on sculpting it to reduce unnecessary space and headbanging at the moment.

I've read the reference several times and I've been scouring the forum for hints but I've come up blank. First the long shot: Is it possible to have air below the water line? That would solve about everything. Second, how on earth does headshotcity run if this much space is a problem? I know HSC was pre 1.1 (I've read the row over the restrictions) but I can't figure out how it is even possible since it's a lot more intricate and open than my level.

Your advice would be appreciated, criticism welcome. I'm quite taken with this engine and I think I'll try for some more maps, I'd like this one to work though.

p.s. I just noticed that I'd flubbed the maprot.cfg so if you're one of the people who played it after I left, that was an earlier version and ugly as satan's hemorrhoids. Sorry about that.
Thanks given by:
*Insert witty yet irrelevent criticism here*

i cant help, but good luck!
Thanks given by:
Upload your map somewhere and link to it here so we can check it out.

To answer some preliminary questions: