Adding Bots To Multiplayer Game
Hi guys,

I'm new to assault cube and I was wondering if it was possible to add bots into a lan game. I have only one friend playing and was wondering if I could add bots into the game to make it more exciting. (2 v 2 or something)

Thanks lots,
Zack
Thanks given by:
I have the same wish.

Zarj is preparing some re-making of the bot paradigm/codes, so he will be the voice in this issue.

The main problem we do not have bots in multiplayer is that bot is client side stuff, and the server was created as a simple multiplexer (tbh, I do not know what this means, but I saw flowtron saying this... so...).
I do not think it is difficult to put the bots in server side, but you need some time, code skills and work to do this.

Maybe in the future, with some cleanup of the AC code this can become true.
Thanks given by:
In Sauer bots are auto added to "balance teams"
Maybe Cube 2 engine will give some hints
Thanks given by:
Yes, I am planning on working on the bots, but I'm very busy this semester, so not anytime soon.
And as Brahma said, the AC source code is a mess... :/
Thanks given by:
For simple LAN use wouldn't it be simpler to leave the server code untouched and create "dummy clients" that connect to the server like normal client, except these are computer controlled?

Just an idea I came up with the other day... I've been thinking about this too :p
Thanks given by:
oh man!

Alright! THanks guys for the help!

Thanks,
Zack
Thanks given by:
The problem with client-side bots, JMM, is that someone can then modify them for their own evil purposes. As well, its better to have them controlled by the server, so that they aren't affected by lag from any clients. Admittedly, neither of these are really a problem for LANs, but when bot server code needs to be written anyways for internet servers ... might as well use the same for LAN (that is, if/when the code finally does get written).
Thanks given by: