Fedora setup woes
Okay.
Here's the thing. I am a Linux noob. And I know that's an unusual way to start a topic, but it's important for you to understand where I'm coming from here. I don't even know how to execute stuff from the terminal, but nevertheless I tried to setup Assaultcube on Fedora 13.

Right, and from the moment of extraction there's a great big glaring problem: Assaultcube.sh does not run. At all. Not even a cutesy error message, not even an idle process. 'Running from terminal' closes instantly and, yes, I have checked that all the required libraries are fully up to date.

EDIT: I've cut the rest of the post because I've managed to get the terminal to stay open. It complains that it is 'Unable to create OpenGL screen (Couldn't find matching GLX visual)'. Surely if I can run Sauerbraten on maximum settings, OpenGL is functioning perfectly? So why is it doing this?
Thanks given by:
Quote:'Running from terminal' closes instantly

How about, open terminal manually, navigate to the directory where assaultcube is, and then run the shell script.

Use "cd DIRECTORY" to navigate. Use ../ to go backwards a directory when navigating.
Use "sh assaultcube.sh" to run ac.
Thanks given by:
Same problem as before. I already fixed this in the 'edit', it's an OpenGL problem, something about GLX
Thanks given by:
Anyone help? No?

I mean, seriously, how hard can it be to get one of the most popular open-source games on the net to work with a common and completely functioning Linux distro?
Thanks given by:
You need to post here the error messages...
Run it in the terminal and copy the messages here.
Thanks given by:
op stated that terminal reported: ***Unable to create OpenGL screen (Couldn't find matching GLX visual)***

Thanks given by:
ATI?
nVidia?

*Whats the output of
glxinfo | grep -i opengl
?
*Run in Terminal.
Thanks given by:
What 3D drivers do you have installed? Make/model of graphics card?
Thanks given by: