I'm a Server Noooooob (its running just fine, need advice)
Hi all,

I started a server a couple of days ago called "Beverly Hills Shooting Club". So, I figured I would join the forum here. I DON'T need to know how to forward ports... lol. I've pretty much figured out how it all works, as a conceptual whole.

So far, I've gotten the big blacklists, and clan whitelists (originally from TYD and others) and some assistance DES Mayhem. SODA...ME has also been giving me great advice (Thanks so much guys).

Anyway, I am still a server/admin noob. If there is any good links, how-to's, security advice, maps... anything related to running a server...you guys could point me to or advise me to do/learn, I would really appreciate it.

If it matters, I run a Linux box (Xubuntu 10.04). I run the server on a user account that basically has no permissions (I read this is a good idea) and was solely created for the purpose of running the server.

Anyway, thanks to everyone involved with AC.
Thanks given by:
http://wiki.cubers.net/action/view/Serve...nistration

Edit : I just realized that you quote yourself :p
Thanks given by:
edit--

Good grief, how did I manage to get this server running...
Thanks given by:
If you are french I can give you some link and vids.

Btw to edit your post, search for :
[quote='Liz-Taylor' pid='102040' dateline='1341675655']
and delete until you see :
[/quote]

Hope some server owner will help you :p
Thanks given by:
This is slightly out-of-date now, but is indispensable and still very relevant. Read it through twice.
As for security, if your server was secure before you started running the AC server, it will be fine now.
Most of the advice that's already prepared for you, you've already surpassed. There are more advanced options open to you, such as log rotation, archival and distribution of demos, finding reliable admins to cover your server as often as possible. Take a look at kiwi.ac for good examples.
Thanks given by: