Number of hitboxes
So i stumbled on this video of the TF2 hitbox renderings and thought "there are LOADS of hitboxes"

I saw a similar video showing the CS:S hitboxes.

I would imagine they do this to make the bullet damage more realistic. But then i thought, how come AC does not have this many hitboxes? and how many does it have currently? 2?
i'm a noob on this subject btw.
Thanks given by:
If I'm correct hitboxes don't only take care of the bullet damage, but also collisions such as against walls and players. I'm not sure about TF2's gameplay but it's probably more graphically-minded than AC, and the amount of hitboxes could be to make the movements and actions of the model more realistic. Also I should add that since in AC it makes no difference if you hit a foot or a hand or the chest there's no need for that many hitboxes.
Thanks given by:
(16 Feb 12, 12:52AM)#M|A#Wolf Wrote: Also I should add that since in AC it makes no difference if you hit a foot or a hand or the chest there's no need for that many hitboxes.

I am curious about this myself -- I realize that sniping someone on the head results in gibs and a "headshot," or an instant kill. However, does hitting the head with any weapon do more damage than simply hitting the body, like in CS?
Thanks given by:
Sniper only does more damage. There is only two hitboxes. One reason why there may be so many is different animations depending on where you hit them. So hitting a hand would make their hand fly off of their weapon, whereas hitting their arm may make them get pushed sideways or whatnot. AC only does exploding bodies and a hurt animation (may not even an animation).
Thanks given by:
in SVN there is an animation sometimes where the player's head snaps back like crazy.
Is that a bug?
Thanks given by:
That's just tourrette's, Nightmare
Thanks given by:
Those head hitboxes are ginormous.
Thanks given by:
(16 Feb 12, 03:17AM)Mai Mee Tur Wrote: That's just tourrette's, Nightmare