Ping?
Hi,
I'm new to online gaming and people keep asking about my ping and why it's so high. So I want to know what ping is? and Where do I want it to be? (high or low)

Thanks.
Thanks given by:
The ping of a client is basically the amount of time (ms) it takes for packets to be sent to a server you're playing on.

Think of it this way: you're calling someone FAR away. There is a delay for the message to be received, right? That 'delay' in gaming is your ping. The 'message' would be your kill on someone, so for instance, if you killed someone, the server would notify you of that kill n number of seconds (where n=ping). You'd want it to be low, so you don't lag so much.

Your ping might be high because of a bad internet connection, or maybe because of the distance between your computer's location and the server's location. The nearer the server, the lower the ping; which is why it is recommended that you play on servers nearer to you.

Hope this helped. :)
Thanks given by:
Ping describes how long it takes your information to travel through the inter-webs to the server. You want it to be low to avoid latency (too much delay for the predictive movement part of the game code).
Packet jump ("PJ") is also an important stat for latency. It describes how many information packets have to be skipped because of unstable latency (the network not being sure of how to compensate for lag/ping).
"Lag" is a term used to describe ping or PJ that is high enough to severely disrupt gameplay. If you lag, you're apt to get kicked out of a server so that others can actually play.
Thanks given by:
Do you have any suggestions on how to lower it because the lowest I've seen my ping is about 1300?
Thanks given by:
Wow. That's ridiculous. Where do you live? Vanuatu? If you do there's no helping it. Otherwise you could get yourself a decent broadband connection.
Thanks given by:
:/