ZomDot
Wrote this last night/today. Top down Zombies survival. Press 'c' to start/stop the Zombies. F5 enters fullscreen. It's clearly not a finished game but it's a decent start considering I've never written several key parts of the code before. ~3 days to Christmas, maybe I'll have a functioning "game" by then. If I wrote this much in one day I should be able to manage assuming I don't lose steam.

For now you can run around, let the Zombies chase you, pretend you're shooting at them, make pewpewpew sounds. Use your mouse to change direction, up and down arrow keys to move. You will have the option of using arrow keys alone to move although most people will prefer the mouse.

[Image: ohshitu.png]

Zombies will run directly at you even if there is a wall in the way. I'm pondering a "rail" system to correct that. I've never written bots that followed paths so I don't yet know how to do it but I have some ideas.

Zombies do not yet collide with each other. I'll cross that horrific bridge when I get to it. If you know how to do this properly or have links to good literature on it I'd appreciate it.

Corners are a little wonky because map collision is not written correctly.

You may "fire" your "weapon" by clicking but it doesn't do any damage. I don't have any method of figuring out if a Zombie was hit written yet.

I do not intend to keep the appearance of the game as it currently is; the finished game will not consist of one blue dot running from many red dots. A properly animated model should occupy both roles. As well, maps will not be boolean arrays, that's just silly. The appearance and functioning of the game right now are the way they are just to serve a purpose; it allows me to be chased by 1024 Zombies at 50fps(512x512) on my crap computer(Integrated graphics, five year old cpu).