Multiplayer bots?
Hi,

I am new to Cube and Assault Cube, am playing it multiplayer with my 5yr old son on our home LAN (he enjoys it but of course is just learning).

We would like to add some bots to make it more interesting. Would be good to control the skill level too (iykwim) so as not to put my son off...

Everything I found on the internet/forums etc seems to say that Cube/AssaultCube don't support multiplayer bots. Anyone out there know any differently?

Finally though, Google found this on the official AssaultCube website no less: http://assault.cubers.net/docs/cube_bot-readme.txt
This talks about a Cube mod that provides for multiplayer bots.

Looking through all the documentation on the official AssaultCube website I can't find where it is linked too (all the bot commands explicitly say they won't work in multiplayer mode).

Finally I found the relevant website: http://cubebot.bots-united.com/

This talks about the latest version being 0.32 from 17-Oct-2005, with no subsequent development detailed.

Anyone have any experience with this topic, or the mod mentioned here, or why the official AssaultCube website contains this doc but no (at least I couldn't find any) mention of how to use it/download it etc.

Regards,
fttb.
Thanks given by:
- removed by Moderator (Mr.Floppy) -
Thanks given by:
@pufig: WTF is your problem?

@fttb: in AssaultCube, bots don't work in Multiplayer. You may want to try Sauerbraten, which has multiplayer bots (and is the successor of Cube)
Thanks given by:
Certainly wouldn't force him to. He likes it. Would like to find some "players" at his skill level is all (other than me pretending to be).

Are you able to provide a more informative answer?

Thanks,
fttb.
Thanks Tempest.

Yes, we had a look at Sauerbraten but one of our machines doesn't seem to be high spec enough.

Anyway, just wondering what the AssaultCube plans were in this direction since the AssaultCube website is where I first found the info/docs about CubeBot...