LAN game but no internet
is this possible? I have 6 computers at work that id like to LAN with but is it possible to have one machine running as the server and the other 5 connecting to it.. so far i've only seen ways to connect IF you connect to the master server online... this is not possible where i work.

thanks in advance.

Thanks given by:
Yes it's possible, use localhost/ as masterserver. (-mlocalhost/ in the server launcher: serverautoconfigured.bat)
Thanks given by:
Im new to this so not sure where to put that...
Thanks given by:
You don't need a masterserver for a LAN game. And also, read the documentation here before asking questions. If you had, this thread could have been avoided all together.
Thanks given by:
that guide mentions nothing about LANs period. the "get started guide" is of no help. how bout a little help instead of immediate attitude. if you had, this post would be over.
Thanks given by:
(20 Dec 10, 09:04PM)bfdm_mexi Wrote: that guide mentions nothing about LANs period. the "get started guide" is of no help. how bout a little help instead of immediate attitude. if you had, this post would be over.

I believe this page might be the documentation that eftertanke is referring to.

I've never done it myself but I imagine that it's simply a case of choosing one of the player's PC's to be the server (as well as a client). The documentation implies that you can run both on one PC quite happily but you should choose the most powerful PC with the most stable connection (i.e. Wired connection to router is preferred over wireless for server).

Then everyone simply connects to that server using "/join [LAN ip address of server]"

I could be wrong though. :)
Thanks given by:
(20 Dec 10, 09:29PM)Darkbee Wrote:
(20 Dec 10, 09:04PM)bfdm_mexi Wrote: that guide mentions nothing about LANs period. the "get started guide" is of no help. how bout a little help instead of immediate attitude. if you had, this post would be over.