Posts: 17
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
Hello, I recently learned c++ and decided to look at the assault cube code for practice. I decided to try to add some guns(with same stats just different look than other guns). After successfully doing this i tried to compile the ac source. I moved it into windows system32 and tried to use the visual c++ cmd to run the make file, but when i used the command nmake -f makefile this message pops up "fatal error... illegal character '/' in macro. Stop" I tried to fix this but found i couldn't I was wondering if anybody knows how to stop this or if their is a better way to compile ac thanks.
Posts: 1,436
Threads: 7
Joined: Jun 2010
I never even thought about invoking that stuff manually, so I can't help you with that. My advice is to just spare yourself the hassle, open the project (src/vcpp/cube.vcproj) in Visual Studio and hit "Build".
Posts: 3,780
Threads: 33
Joined: Jun 2010
You... didn't realize "/" is an illegal character? Microsoft won't allow anyone to use that! :-(
MinGW FTW
Posts: 3,462
Threads: 72
Joined: Jun 2010
You will soon get prosecuted.
Posts: 560
Threads: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
(25 Nov 11, 02:49AM)V-Man Wrote: MinGW FTW
Posts: 739
Threads: 20
Joined: Jun 2010
how do i compile wallhack? (demo revision)
Posts: 17
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
25 Nov 11, 08:48PM
(This post was last modified: 25 Nov 11, 09:03PM by |FOX|elocsitruc.)
prosecuted?? lol thats what is says. ok so using the visual studio would be best. I'll go ahead and try that.
Posts: 17
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
ok so I did what tempest said but when i build it an error message pops up that says "unable to start program debug/cube.exe system cannot find the file specified" I did have to convert the files because im using a newer version could this be why?
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2011
25 Nov 11, 10:45PM
(This post was last modified: 25 Nov 11, 10:49PM by Kosta.)
(25 Nov 11, 09:57AM)Vermi Wrote: how do i compile wallhack? (demo revision) Wow, you are asking how to cheat on official game forum?
(25 Nov 11, 10:26PM)|FOX|elocsitruc Wrote: ok so I did what tempest said but when i build it an error message pops up that says "unable to start program debug/cube.exe system cannot find the file specified" I did have to convert the files because im using a newer version could this be why? It means it compiled correctly.
Now you have an executable in bin_win32, ac_client. You have to copy it in bin directory where assault cube is installed (for me, it's C:\Program Files (x86)\AssaultCube_v1.1.0.4\bin_win32). Then you have to launch the game with assaultcube.bat or desktop icon. (not the .exe in bin).
Good luck!
BTW, is the server source code available and open source? I could only find code for ac_client.
Posts: 1,436
Threads: 7
Joined: Jun 2010
25 Nov 11, 11:57PM
(This post was last modified: 25 Nov 11, 11:59PM by tempest.)
(25 Nov 11, 10:45PM)Kosta Wrote: It means it compiled correctly.
Now you have an executable in bin_win32, ac_client. You have to copy it in bin directory where assault cube is installed (for me, it's C:\Program Files (x86)\AssaultCube_v1.1.0.4\bin_win32). Then you have to launch the game with assaultcube.bat or desktop icon. (not the .exe in bin). Actually, I don't think you'd even have to move any files around. It should already be in bin_win32. One day I (or someone else) could fix the VC++ project so the path and working dir for the debugger actually work.
(25 Nov 11, 10:45PM)Kosta Wrote: BTW, is the server source code available and open source? I could only find code for ac_client. It's all the same code, just that (AFAIK) the VS project doesn't provide a build setting for building the dedicated server. You can
a) build in MinGW (the makefile has such a separate entry) or
b) be good with it and launch the client executable with the -d option, thus getting a dedicated server. The difference lies only in the slightly larger size.
PS: remember to change the protocol number to negative when you make gameplay-relevant changes :)
Posts: 256
Threads: 15
Joined: Jun 2010
(25 Nov 11, 11:57PM)tempest Wrote: (25 Nov 11, 10:45PM)Kosta Wrote: ... Actually, I don't think you'd even have to move any files around. It should already be in bin_win32. One day I (or someone else) could fix the VC++ project so the path and working dir for the debugger actually work.
Already did for my server side stuff. :P But I have encountered some interesting behaviour while debugging ac server.
(25 Nov 11, 11:57PM)tempest Wrote: (25 Nov 11, 10:45PM)Kosta Wrote: BTW, is the server source code available and open source? I could only find code for ac_client. It's all the same code, just that (AFAIK) the VS project doesn't provide a build setting for building the dedicated server. You can
a) build in MinGW (the makefile has such a separate entry) or
b) be good with it and launch the client executable with the -d option, thus getting a dedicated server. The difference lies only in the slightly larger size.
You obviously can build a dedicated server in msvcpp. It's just named rather obscure.
Posts: 1,436
Threads: 7
Joined: Jun 2010
(26 Nov 11, 02:45AM)SKB Wrote: Already did for my server side stuff. :P But I have encountered some interesting behaviour while debugging ac server. Such as...?
(26 Nov 11, 02:45AM)SKB Wrote: You obviously can build a dedicated server in msvcpp. It's just named rather obscure. Indeed, at least it says so in the project file. But what's so obscure about "Standalone"?
Posts: 256
Threads: 15
Joined: Jun 2010
(26 Nov 11, 11:51AM)tempest Wrote: (26 Nov 11, 02:45AM)SKB Wrote: Already did for my server side stuff. :P But I have encountered some interesting behaviour while debugging ac server. Such as...? Server - MS "handshake" triggers a breakpoint. And it's not set by me, i think it's auto.
> ac_server.exe!vector<char>::operator[](int i=0) Line 424 + 0x34 bytes C++
ac_server.exe!flushmasterinput() Line 151 + 0x15 bytes C++
ac_server.exe!serverms(int mode=0, int numplayers=0, int minremain=10, char * smapname=0x0056dc60, int millis=17452, const _ENetAddress & localaddr={...}, int * mnum=0x00570f40, int * msend=0x00570324, int * mrec=0x0057072c, int * cnum=0x00570f44, int * csend=0x00570b34, int * crec=0x00570f3c, int protocol_version=1132) Line 327 C++
ac_server.exe!serverslice(unsigned int timeout=5) Line 3861 + 0x50 bytes C++
ac_server.exe!initserver(bool dedicated=true, int argc=5, char * * argv=0x00dd3a70) Line 4206 + 0x7 bytes C++
ac_server.exe!main(int argc=5, char * * argv=0x00dd3a70) Line 4240 + 0xf bytes C++
ac_server.exe!__tmainCRTStartup() Line 266 + 0x19 bytes C
ac_server.exe!mainCRTStartup() Line 182 C
kernel32.dll!7c817077()
[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for kernel32.dll]
variables:
- this 0x00575ca0 struct vector<char> masterin {buf=0x00dfeab0 "ÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍ a vector<char> * const
+ buf 0x00dfeab0 "ÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍÍ" char *
alen 4096 int
ulen 0 int
i 0 int
Even if i click to continue instead of breaking. It says MS couldn't ping me. (and i'm not using -mlocalhost)
(26 Nov 11, 11:51AM)tempest Wrote: (26 Nov 11, 02:45AM)SKB Wrote: You obviously can build a dedicated server in msvcpp. It's just named rather obscure. Indeed, at least it says so in the project file. But what's so obscure about "Standalone"? Imagine, you're trying to compile an ac server for the first time. It's just too ambiguous. Maybe a poor word choice on my end. :|
Posts: 1,436
Threads: 7
Joined: Jun 2010
26 Nov 11, 04:15PM
(This post was last modified: 26 Nov 11, 04:15PM by tempest.)
(26 Nov 11, 02:42PM)SKB Wrote: Server - MS "handshake" triggers a breakpoint. And it's not set by me, i think it's auto.
[snip]
Even if i click to continue instead of breaking. It says MS couldn't ping me. (and i'm not using -mlocalhost) That's interesting, thanks. Might be some time until I get back to a Windows system, but maybe someone else can take a look.
(26 Nov 11, 11:51AM)tempest Wrote: Imagine, you're trying to compile an ac server for the first time. It's just too ambiguous. Right, "Standalone Server" or smth would be more obvious.
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2011
Sorry, I am just new to the game and the source code, didn't look at everything YET. Thanks for the help :-)
Posts: 17
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2011
And it crashes lol oh well ill keep working on it now that i know how to compile it. thanks
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Nov 2011
May I ask how it crashes?
|